Peter Neijens received the EAA Flemming Hansen Award 2019

The EAA grants the Fleming Hansen Award every second year. This long-term impact award honors a scholar who has made contributions to distinguished scholarship in advertising research. This year, the Award Jury and Selection Committee was made up of Edward Malthouse (Northwestern University), Shintaro Okazaki (King’s College London; Jury President), Edith Smit (University of Amsterdam), and Ralf Terlutter (University of Klagenfurt).

This year’s Fleming Hansen Award was bestowed to Professor Peter Neijens, Honorary Fellow and Emeritus Professor of Media and Persuasion in The Amsterdam School of Communication Research (ASCoR) at the Communication Science Department of the University of Amsterdam. He has published widely in national and international journals and books, mainly in the areas of persuasive communication, in particular media uses and effects in advertising and public opinion. Peter serves the editorial boards of Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly, Annals of the International Communication Association, the Journal of Advertising, the Journal of Advertising Research, and the International Journal of Advertising. He served as editor-in-chief of the International Journal of Public Opinion Research from 2008 to 2011, as an associate editor of the Oxford Bibliographies (Communication). He is a past president of the EAA.

Peter Neijens receives Fleming Hansen Award

Peter studied Political and Social Sciences at the University of Amsterdam. After he graduated cum laude, he worked at the Research Methods Department of the Vrije Universiteit in Amsterdam for ten years. He served as scientific director of ASCoR from 1998 to 2005 and from 2011 to 2012. He was director of The Graduate School of Communication at the University of Amsterdam from 2009 to 2013, and scientific director of the Netherlands School of Communications Research from 2000 to 2005. He served as Chair (ad interim) of the Department of Communication in 2014. He was also Director of the Foundation for Fundamental Research on Commercial Communication and Deputy Director of the Dutch Press Institute. He was a visiting professor at many universities, including the University of Michigan.

Peter Neijens receives Fleming Hansen Award

In 2013, he was awarded the first Netherlands-Flanders Communication Association Career Award for a lifetime of scholarly achievement in communication science. In 2018, Peter was named Fellow of the International Communication Association. Fellow status is a recognition of distinguished scholarly contributions to the broad field of communication science. His publications received several awards, such as the Worcester Prize for the best article in the International Journal of Public Opinion Research in 1997, the Baschwitz Award for the best article of the year in 2016, Top Paper Awards of the International Communication Association in 2000, 2006, 2010, and 2012, the Top Paper Award of the ICORIA in 2003, 2009, and 2010, the Best Reviewer Award of the International Journal of Advertising in 2009, the Teaching Award of the Student Association Communication Science, and the Dutch EMMA Award for the best research in the field of Media & Advertising in 1996 and 1999.

Back to news