EAA’s Flemming Hansen Award

Professor John Rossiter first recipient of EAA’s award for excellence in advertising research

The European Advertising Academy (EAA) created the Flemming Hansen Award to honor an individual who has demonstrated long term impact in the field of advertising research. Professor John Rossiter became the very first recipient of the Award at the ICORIA 2015 conference in London.

Professor John Rossiter receives Flemming Hansen Award

John is currently an honorary professorial fellow at the School of Management, Operations and Marketing in the Faculty of Business, University of Wollongong. He is also a visiting research professor in the Schumpeter School of Business and Economics, Bergische University Wuppertal, Germany. John has made numerous important contributions to the field of advertising research over the last 40 years. First, his advertising textbooks have been highly influential. For example, one of the textbooks has been cited more than 1600 times in research papers. These books have been used worldwide and have been translated into several languages.

Second, John has published more than 200 journal articles and book chapters. Many of these publications have been highly influential. For example, he has a dozen publications in the field of advertising alone with more than 100 citations. In addition, John was a pioneering researcher of children’s response to advertising. A series of his articles, published mainly in the 1970s, are still frequently cited. He also published extensively on visual processing in advertising, while introducing several important models and theoretical frameworks in advertising and marketing.

Finally, John has long served on editorial review boards of leading academic journals, including the Journal of Advertising, the Journal of Advertising Research, the International Journal of Advertising, the Journal of Interactive Advertising, and the Journal of Marketing Communications. John has also been an invited speakers and a visiting professor at many international universities. He presented at countless marketing conferences, and mentored and supervised numerous Ph.D. candidates.

Based on these outstanding merits the jury concluded that only one person could be the rightful winner of the first EAA Flemming Hansen Award–John Rossiter.

The jury,
Peter Neijens, Edith Smit, Ralf Terlutter,
Past Presidents of the EAA

Back to news